In The Woods By Tana French

This post may contain affiliate links that earn me a commission at no additional cost to you.

Set in Dublin, this richly atmospheric mystery novel follows two detectives as they work the case of a missing twelve-year-old girl. Find all the In the Woods book information here.

In the Woods

In The Woods By Tana French Book Information

Series: The Dublin Murder Squad Book #1
Genres: Mystery & Thriller
Book Setting: Dublin, Ireland
Length: 464 pages
First Published: 2007
Add to Goodreads
Buy on Amazon

In The Woods By Tana French Summary

As dusk approaches a small Dublin suburb in the summer of 1984, mothers begin to call their children home. But on this warm evening, three children do not return from the dark and silent woods. When the police arrive, they find only one of the children gripping a tree trunk in terror, wearing blood-filled sneakers, and unable to recall a single detail of the previous hours.

Twenty years later, the found boy, Rob Ryan, is a detective on the Dublin Murder Squad and keeps his past a secret. But when a twelve-year-old girl is found murdered in the same woods, he and Detective Cassie Maddox—his partner and closest friend—find themselves investigating a case chillingly similar to the previous unsolved mystery. Now, with only snippets of long-buried memories to guide him, Ryan has the chance to uncover both the mystery of the case before him and that of his own shadowy past.

Richly atmospheric and stunning in its complexity, In the Woods is utterly convincing and surprising to the end.

More In The Dublin Murder Squad Series:

About The Author, Tana French

Tana French is the author of The Witch Elm, In the Woods, The Likeness, Faithful Place, Broken Harbor, The Secret Place, The Trespasser, and The Searcher. She lives in Dublin with her family.

Book Lists Featuring In The Woods By Tana French